Please Tell Us Your City

The first India Baja organised successfully

The first India Baja organised successfully
Omkar Thakur Omkar Thakur Thursday 18 February 2016, 12:53 PM

The Baja 1000 rally has its roots in the Baja province of Mexico where the rally runs across a thousand miles of absolutely treacherous terrain in equally unreliable weather. Northern Motorsport organised the first ever India Baja, inspired from the Baja 1000 in the deserts of Rajasthan over the last weekend.

The rally was flagged off from Bikaner and the route that went over 500kms had about 300kms of competitive rally stages strewn across. The first ever India Baja got good response with over 60 racers participating on their quads, cars and bikes. The competitors were divided into different categories depending upon the extent of performance modifications on the machines to ensure healthy competition. Safety was given due importance with the organisers sticking to international standards for vehicle and occupant safety and tracking.

The T1 category in cars was won by Team Maruti’s Suresh Rana co-driven by Ashwin Naik. Fellow racer and teammate Niju Padia with navigator Neerav Mehta stood first in the T2 category while T3 – the category for purpose built vehicles was won by Team Polaris’ Raj Singh Rathore along with Rihen Bharadwaj.

The motorcycle crown for the A category was bagged by none other than CS Santosh, the Indian motorcycle rally champion while the other category was won by the rookie from Rajasthan, Jes David. The Quad category was won by another known name in Indian Motorsport – Pramod Joshua.

CS Santosh, in a social media post, said that the rally was quite challenging especially in the night stage. Northern motorsport successfully executed the event that went on straight for almost 24 hours and are looking to get international competitors to fight it out in the next iteration.


Popular Cars

View All